The quest of the purple

”Is this thing on? Alright. Let’s begin. Jenny?”
”…”
”Jenny, focus please. Jenny! Focus! What’s your status?”
”…”
”You didn’t do the prechecks? Are you serious? That is in your job description!”
”…”
”No, just shut up Jenny. Shut up. No, shut up. Jenny. Jenny? Just flip the switch, ok. Just … do it, ok?”
”…”
”Whatever. Are you all ready, then, finally? I did not think I would have to ask at this point, but apparently I do have to ask. Are you all ready?”
”…” ”…” ”…” ”…”
”Ok. Whatever. Fine. Ok. Starting test Gamma-3, number twentyseven. The injector is on standby, preparing red-one. … … Ok, looks good. Ben, inject red-one.”
”…”
”Inject red-one, Ben.”
”…”
”BEN! Red-one! Now, ifyouwouldsokindlyplease!”
”…”
”Yes. Ok. Fine. Thank you. No, really, thank you. I should just tattoo that in my face because man I hate saying it to you.”
”…”
”Whatever. Whatever! Red-one is go. … Red-one is gamma-stable. Prepare mauve-three. Pete?”
”…”
”Yes, we are.”
”…”
”No, that was last week. Are you serious?”
”…”
”WHAT-EVER. Abort! Abort, abort, abort, abort. We’ll have to start over. For the record and for the future generations should you unlucky sods ever uncover this crap, Pete thought we were still on mauve-two. Get a grip, Pete. I’m serious.
”…”
”Clean out the spam then!”
”…”
”No, I did say it in the meeting.”
”…”
”I remember it.”
”…”
”NO. Shut up, Pete. Just get mauve-three so we can get going, ok?”
”…”
”Just go. Just go. No, no, just get it.”
”…”
”I really can’t believe this. I need a break. Listen up, while Pete is setting up mauve-three, take five.”
”…”
”WHATEVER!”
”…”
”…”
”…”
”…”
”Ok, we’re back. Jenny, is the injector still in standby?”
”…”
”You shut it down? I … Why?”
”…”
”No, just … Take another five, everyone.”
”…”
”…”
”So, Jenny. Standby, is the injector at least tangential to the concept?”
”…”
”Ok. Starting test Gamma-3, number twentyeight. The injector is on standby, preparing red-one. … … Ben, red-one please.”
”…”
”Good. … Red-one is gamma-stable. Prepare mauve-three. … Pete, inject mauve-three.”
”…”
”Alright. Mauve-three is gamma-stable. Looks good so far. Liv, how’s the beta-levels?”
”…”
”Coherent, Liv. I appreciate it. Alright. Kim, prepare delta-lavender.”
”…”
”Ok, inject delta-lavender.”
”…”
”That’s… Uh… Liv, readings please? What is that?”
”…”
”What? No, that can’t be right.”
”…”
”Yes, I see it too, but … Wait. Kim?”
”…”
”That’s purple-ten, isn’t it?”
”…”
”Look at the label please.”
”…”
”… and it’s five-five-zed-three, which is what, Kim?”
”…”
”Yes, indeed. Abort! Abort is another word I need tatooed somewhere. Abort! Liv, anything useful at all?”
”…”
”What is the speaking equivalent to caps lock again? All right, yelling. I will not yell because I am an adult and I am a thinking person and I do not let my emotions run away with me but I can definitely feel some very, very cold logic coming up.”
”…”
”Just forget about it, Kim. Get delta-lavender, and read the labels. That is why they are there.”
”…”
”Yes, I know that is stupid, but it’s how it is. Whatever. Whatever! Take five!”
”…”
”…”
”…”
”Ok, we’re back. Starting test Gamma-3, number twenynine. Jenny, I really hope you left the injector in standby this time.
”…”
”Fine. Red-one, Ben.”
”…”
” … Aaaand mauve-three, Pete.”
”…”
” … Delta-lavender, hit it.”
”…”
”Liv, readings? Looks fine from here.”
”…”
”Excellent. Everything’s looking nice and purple.”
”…”
”It’s a shade of purple.”
”…”
”They’re all purple. Whatever! Prepare lilac. And Jenny, I hope that is just lilac and not lilac-1.”
”…”
”Good. Prepare injection. Carefully. … And go.”
”…”
”…!”
”…!”
”Well, that was interesting. What happened, Liv? Ben, stop laughing. Ben, please. It is funny, but also not really. Ben. Ben? BEN! Have some water, dude. Jenny, don’t cry. I’m sure it wasn’t your fault. Liv?”
”…”
”Ah. See, totally random Jenny! It is pretty volatile at this stage; there was a backsurge just when you were about to inject the lilac.”
”…”
”Jenny, calm down. Take a break. Wash up. Use the … the soap, you know. The special soap. What’s it called again?”
”…”
”Yeah, that. You’ll be fine, Jenny. You’ll be fine. Ok. See you in a bit, OK?”
”…”
”She gone?”
”…!”
”…!”
”…!”
”…!”
”Yeah, whoooooo. Hahaha, oh man. She will have to shave off that hair unless she likes that colour. … Ok. I’m fine. And relax.”
”…”
”Liv, anything useful? You got the backsurge stored for analysis?”
”…”
”Excellent. Every day we learn. Carl, take Jennys spot. I’m sure it won’t happen again.”
”…”
”No, there isn’t.”
”…”
”Too expensive. Yeah it sucks, I know, but what can you do? Prime the injector! Starting test Gamma-3, number thirty.”

The quest of the purple